image6_edited_edited_edited.png
image6_edited_edited.png
image6_edited_edited_edited_edited.png

What is Gelatin?

Gelatin is one of the most widely used products out there. You can find it in many baked goods, candies, jellies, jams, and even some savoury foods. Though is so widely used, many still do not know exactly what it is. Gelatin is a form of cooked protein. Collagen, a protein found in both humans and animals, has many health benefits but is often found in animal parts that are not commonly eaten. However, when these parts are cooked, the collagen (and therefore the gelatin) separates from the body and can be extracted. Gelatin is most commonly made from cows of pigs. Though this may sounds like a difficult process, it actually happens naturally when making things like bone broth of chicken broth. The result of this process is a clear, flavourless substance that hardens in a jelly-like way. It is made up almost entirely of protein, making it a great option for a supplement as it provides all the health benefits of collagen. However, it is important to note that these health benefits will likely not occur if the source of gelatin is products like candy because they have little to no health benefits. Gelatin can be processed further to get rid of the aspect that makes it harden like a jelly, making it ideal for those who take it as a supplement. The downside to gelatin is that it is not vegan-friendly as it comes from animals. Now that you know what gelatin is, you can find ways to incorporate this protein into your diet!